District Officers

Top Three Officers

District Director
Peter Salazar, DTM

The District Director serves as the team leader for all other elected and appointed district leaders, setting the tone and direction for the entire district. Responsibilities include:

  • Supervise and guide all elected and appointed district leaders and be responsible for their success
  • Administer and oversee the district’s financial resources
  • Work with World Headquarters and region advisors on matters related to district operations
  • Serve as presiding officer at the District Executive Committee and District Council meetings
  • Achieve Distinguished District status by accomplishing training, club and membership goals
  • Leading the District Team

Program Quality Director
David Hopper, DTM

The Program Quality Director is responsible for all aspects of education and training within the district. Responsibilities include:

  • Strive for accomplishment of district educational goals and achievement of Distinguished District status
  • Plan, organize, and direct district training programs
  • Plan, organize, and direct the district conference

Club Growth Director
Karen Hewitt, DTM

The Club Growth Director is tasked with the responsibility of all aspects of marketing, club-building, and member and club retention efforts within the district. This includes defining an overall marketing strategy for the district, developing outreach and retention efforts with existing community and corporate clubs, and penetrating new markets. Responsibilities include:

  • Meet all district membership and club growth objectives necessary to achieve Distinguished District status
  • Recruit, train, and supervise a strong club building team
  • Monitor division, area, and club administration to ensure the prompt submission of forms, reports, lists, and other information in a timely manner
  • Serve as third-ranking member of the District Executive Committee, presiding over that body and the District Council in the absence of the district director and program quality director

Executive Team

Immediate Past District Director
James Eng, DTM

The immediate past district director provides counsel and guidance to district leaders and plans, directs, and organizes projects and committees as requested by the district director. One of the major responsibilities of this role is to ensure the incoming district director receives all pertinent district documents prior to June 30. Other responsibilities include serving as a member of the district executive committee and district council, upholding the bylaws and policies of Toastmasters International, encouraging dedicated members to accept leadership positions, and helping the district achieve Distinguished recognition.

Public Relations Manager
Steve Feld, DTM

The public relations manager (PRM) is responsible for coordinating publicity efforts in the district. By establishing and maintaining lines of communication between the district and its members, as well as between the district and the public, the PRM works to increase awareness of Toastmasters through all available media.

Administration Manager
Shelley Gabriel, DTM

The administration manager is responsible for maintaining the historical records of the district, recording and distributing meeting minutes, and otherwise maintaining accurate, timely records of district business.

Finance Manager
Beatriz Herrera, DTM

The finance manager is tasked with the fiscal oversight and management of the district. The finance manager works closely with the district director, program quality director, and club growth director to ensure that the district is making cost-effective decisions—within policy—that result in effective fiscal management. The finance manager should have knowledge of accounting and be acquainted with the handling of financial matters.

Past District Directors/District Governors

Also noted are International Directors (ID) and Regional Advisers (RA)

Years of ServiceNameID/RA
2019-2020James Eng 
2018-2019Michael Holian 
2017-2018Enid Moore-Cranshaw 
2016-2017Jan Byrd 
2015-2016 Jeff Morud 
2014-2015 Hallie Adams 
2013-2014Tim Smith (D) 
2012-2013Marcia Roberts 
2011-2012Rose (Beeson) Swearingen (D)2013-2014 RA
2010-2011Cynthia Kerford 
2009-2010 (District 2)Jim Sultan (D)2011-2013 ID
2009-2010Trish Blackwelder (D) 
2008-2009Bill Bristol 
2007-2008Brenda Bird (D) 
2006-2007Art Nieto (D)1983-1985 ID
2005-2006Tim Swearingen (P)2008-2010 ID
2004-2005Cyndi Newburn (D) 
2003-2004Joe DeRico (D) 
2002-2003Don Griffith (D)2012-2014 ID
2001-2002 Virginia Richtar 
2000-2001 P J Glauz 
1999-2000Kelly McDoulett (D) 
1998-1999Jodie Kay Petra (D) 
1997-1998Nancy Starr-Cassidy (D) 2004-2006 ID
1996-1997Terri Sparks 
1995-1996Lee Wagner 
1994-1995Art Nieto (D)1983-1985 ID
1993-1994 Peg Lovell 
1992-1993Dee Dees 1994-1996 ID
1991-1992Bill Bristol 
1990-1991Geoff Wilson (D) 
1989-1990Glenn Knudson (D) 
1988-1989Jim Davis 
1987-1988Mike DiCerbo 
1986-1987Judy Hancock-Hedding (D) 
1985-1986 Fred Padgett 
1984-1985Ed Howell 
1983-1984Mary Margaret Dockendorff Kibler (S)1985-1987 ID
1982-1983Merv Hedding (P) 
1981-1982Art Nieto (S)1983-1985 ID
1980-1981Ralph McKenzie (P) 
1979-1980Joseph Russell 
1978-1979Juris Kursulis (D) 
1977-1978George Barnett (P) 
1976-1977Larry Dirrum (D) 
1975-1976Bill Crawford (D)1977-1979 ID
1974-1975 Milt Laflen (P) 
1973-1974Bill HamiltonPres. ’81-’82
1972-1973Jim Quinn 
1971-1972Alan Scherer 
1970-1971Ken Jagolinzer 
1969-1970Gene Anderson 
1968-1969Dave Edwards 
1967-1968Keith Smith 
1966-1967Garth Saeger 
1965-1966Mike Marusich 
1964-1965George Morrison 
1963-1964Otto Pedersen 
1962-1963E.C. ‘Sid’ Friar 
1961-1962Jim Bain 
1960-1961Ivan ‘Tiny’ Shields 
1959-1960Robert Englund 
1958-1959Roy Rice 
1957-1958Russ Backus 
1956-1957Ed Troutman 
1955-1956Jim Trees 
1954-1955Fred Collins 
1953-1954Al Morgan 
1952-1953David Palmer 
1951-1952Jesse McLain 
1950-1951 Platt Cline 
1949-1950Harvey Alexander 
1948-1949Paul Jones 
1947-1948Curtis Keene 
1946-1947John Baumgartner 
1945-1946Boyd Lyons 
1944-1945George Chambers 
1943-1944Dick Bennett 
1942-1943Lawrence Lohr 
1941-1942Lawrence Davis 
1940-1941W.S. Randall 
1939-1940Harold Clark 
1938-1939Paul Radcliff 
1937-1938E.E. Morrison