District 3 Communication and Leadership Award

This award is the highest honor District 3 Toastmasters can bestow upon a non-Toastmaster.  It recognizes individuals within our communities who have demonstrated outstanding communication & leadership skills.  Any member or club in good standing can nominate someone for this award.

Presentation Time

This award is to be presented by District 3 at the Hall of Fame Luncheon at the upcoming District Conference.


The recipient must:

  • Not be a Toastmaster
  • Reside within District 3 boundaries
  • Agree, in advance, to attend the luncheon to receive the award and to speak
    at the awards presentation
  • Have made a significant contribution to the communities within District 3, through his/her
    communication and leadership skills
  • Not have previously received this award
  • In addition, the Selection Committee should select a recipient whose stature and contributions facilitate the efforts of District 3 to generate publicity in the community for Toastmasters and promote Toastmasters attendance at the Spring Conference

C & L AwardSelection

Past Communication and Leadership Award Recipients

Spr 2015 Courtney Klein, Co-Founder & CEO of SEED SPOT
Fall 2014 Kristi Tedesco, KVOA News Anchor/Reporter
Spr 2014 Sharon Bates, Anthony Bates Foundation
Fall 2013 Dr. Ron Barnes
Spr 2013 Dr. David Beyda, Medical Director, Medical Mercy
Fall 2012 Dr. Lynn Olslen, Educator and Community Organizer and Facilitator
Spr 2012 Scott Jacobson, Leadership & Community Developer
Fall 2011 Helen Handler, Nazi concentration camp survivor
Spr 2011 Rosie Romero, Radio Personality
Fall 2010 Jason Schechterle, Phoenix Firefighter and community activist
Spr 2010 PJ Dixon, Motivational and Inspirational speaker
Fall 2009 Lew Reese, Radio Personality & community servant
Spr 2009 Brenda Combs, Educator and community activist
Fall 2008 Pat McMahon, Television & Radio personality
Spr 2008 Bill Pepicello, PhD, President, University of Phoenix
Spr 2007 Betty Fairfax, Educator and Philanthropist
Spr 2006 Linda Cobb, “Queen of Clean”
Fall 2005 Bob Walkup, Mayor of Tucson and his wife Beth Walkup
Spr 2005 Dan Davis – KTVK Channel 3
Spr 2004 Jane Robertson – 2004 Arizona Teacher of the Year
Spr 2003 Laura Lawless – Miss Arizona 2002
Fall 2001 Robert A. Khan – Firefighter & Spokesman
Spr 2001 Marshall Trimble – Arizona Historian and Storyteller
Spr 2000 Kathleen Mitchell – Community Leader
Spr 1999 Jana Bommersbach – News Commentator
Spr 1998 Jerry Traylor – Motivator
Spr 1997 Dr. Jack Copeland – Heart Transplant Surgeon
Spr 1996 Sheriff Joe Arpaio – Maricopa County Sheriff
Spr 1993 Kent Dana – News Anchorman
Fall 1992 Linda Turley – News Anchor
Spr 1991 James H. Click – Chairman of Board, Interwest Bank
Fall 1990 Michael Dixon – Radio Talk Show Host
Fall 1989 Idelia B. Riggs – Educator
Fall 1988 Jerry Foster – Helicopter News Reporter
Fall 1987 Sister Mary Kathleen Clark – Community Leader
Fall 1986 Joy E. Marx
Fall 1985 Sandra L. Tarlen – Ashes to Life – Burn Support Group
Fall 1984 Larry Nielsen
Fall 1983 Joseph Black – Corporate Leader
Fall 1982 Ken Coy – News reporter and volunteer
Fall 1981 Joel M. Weldon – Professional Speaker
Fall 1980 Mary Jo West – Television Reporter
Fall 1979 Jesse Owens – 1936 Gold Medal Olympian & Humanitarian
Fall 1978 Lori Cox – High School Student Activist